
  TOMGC Rules and Greens    September 2018 
From your scoring committee:  Please remember to turn in a score card that is neat and legible!  The scoring 

committee is not responsible for deciphering poor penmanship.  We will do everything in our power to post 

the proper score, but if we can not read what you’ve put on the card, you will get our best guess at what the 

number might be!  Additionally, after a card has been signed and handed in to the scorer, it is too late to make 

corrections.  So, don’t come in the following week complaining that you had a birdie and should have won a 

skin.  Your scoring committee will check the card that was turned in, and if the error is ours, we will make 

correction.  If, however, the card was scored incorrectly, too bad.  It is the player’s responsibility to check the 

card turned in to be sure it is correct!  And with that, I would like to give a big shout out to Jerry Smith for all 

he does in the way of scoring.  If, by the way, you are one who likes to second guess the scoring, we are always 

looking for more volunteers to learn the system and help with the scoring duties.  This club is a volunteer 

organization, and we can always use more volunteers, eh?   

After a round last month, the good-looking Jay Hovis, and the equally good-natured Toby Dunn stopped me in 

the parking lot with a good question.  The question had to do with the ever-confusing issue of where to take 

relief when your ball ends up in a water hazard.  You should review rule 26 regarding relief from a water 

hazard, including the lateral water hazard.  You should note that when taking relief from a lateral (red staked) 

hazard, you are given 5 options.  When taking relief from a water hazard (yellow stakes), you are only given 3 

options.  The question posed by Jay and Toby was with regards to a ball that was hit to the green on number 9 

which then rolled back into the hazard.  Unlike a lateral hazard, a ball that crosses the margin of a water 

hazard and rolls back into the hazard, is deemed to have never crossed the hazard.  As such, the drop (relief) 

must be taken from the tee side of the hazard.  As I said, there are only three options with regards to relief 

from a yellow staked water hazard; they are:   

• With a penalty of one stroke, play the ball again from as close to the spot from which the previous shot 

was played. 

• With no penalty, play the ball from the hazard, being sure to follow proper protocol when doing so, or 

• With a penalty of one stroke, play a ball from the tee side of the hazard, on a line with the flagstick, 

and the spot where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard, remembering that the spot where 

the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard on the green-side of the hazard may be different from 

the spot where the ball crossed the margin of the hazard on the tee side of the hazard.  You can go as 

far back on that line as you would prefer. 

Like a handicap, the rules of golf are meant to keep us all playing on a more or less level playing field.  Take 

time to learn some of the basic rules, and be aware, that beginning in January of 2019, we should expect some 

significant changes to the rules that we are all to abide by.   

Thank you for your attention, and thank you for your membership and participation in the club events!       


