TOMGC Rules and Greens October 2017

Just a quick reminder before we get into the Rules Quiz. It is imperative that every member of
a team sharing a score card check to make sure the card being submitted is complete and
correct. At the recent “Man Up” event, | had one score card turned in that was signed and
attested to, however, it was missing the scores for two players on the last hole. Although this
is cause for disqualification, | did give those players the highest score allowed based upon their
handicap. Please remember in the future, that is the responsibility of each player to make
sure their card is correct before being submitted. Thank you.

Ok, I've dangled this carrot in front of you guys for a couple of months now, so let’s review the
rules quiz which came out with the Summer Issue of FORE magazine. Now | know some of you
fellas have probably seen this, but | am also sure that a lot of you recycle this without reading
it, like you do your copy of Healthy Crockpot Cooking that you bought during your grandkid’s
school magazine drive. This quiz was put out by Jimmy Becker, the Assistant Director of Rules
and Competitions with the SCGA. We'll finish the quiz in next month’s Newsletter.

1. During a stroke-play event, Kevin accidentally stepped on and moved his ball, which was
lying through the green. Prior to playing his next stroke, Kevin replaced his ball at its
original location. What is the ruling?

A. There is no penalty.
B. Kevin incurs a penalty of 1 stroke.
C. Kevin incurs a penalty of 2 strokes.
D. Kevin losses the hole.
2. Which of the following is correct regarding bunkers?
A. Grass-covered ground within a bunker is part of the bunker.
B. The margin of the bunker extends vertically downward and upward.
C. The ball is in the bunker when it lies in or any part of it touches the bunker.
D. The player is not allowed to place his/her clubs in a bunker.



3. During the eighth hole of the SCGA Senior Match Play Championship, Craig and Jeff
agree to consider the hole halved after playing their second shots. What is the ruling?

A. There is no penalty to either player and the players should move on to the ninth
hole — the eighth hole is halved.

B. One player may concede the hole to the other, but the players may not agree to
consider the hole halved.

C. Both players are disqualified.

D. If this procedure isn’t corrected prior to the players teeing off on the ninth hole,
the match should be cancelled and replayed.

4. During California Amateur Qualifying, John hits his tee shot and the ball came to rest in
the cup holder of a parked, but movable, maintenance cart. What is the ruling?

A. John is not entitled to relief.

B. John is entitled to relief and must move the cart and drop the ball directly under
where it came to rest in the cup holder.

C. John is entitled to relief and must move the cart and place the ball directly under
where it came to rest in the cup holder.

D. John is entitled to relief and must move the cart and drop the ball within one club
length of the place where it came to rest in the cup holder.

5. Sebastian’s ball is embedded in the middle of the fairway. He wished to take relief. He
marks the location of the ball, lifts the ball, and cleans it. He then drops the ball
properly but it once again embeds in the fairway. Sebastian is about to pick up the ball
again when his fellow competitor, Craig, argues that he is not entitled to relief. What is
the ruling?

A. Sebastian must play the ball as it currently lies.

B. Sebastian incurs a penalty of 1 stroke for lifting his ball and cleaning it.

C. Sebastian may lift and drop the ball again in accordance with the Rules.

D. Sebastian must place the ball as near as possible to where it first struck the course
when it was dropped.

Ok, wasn’t that fun? Just like being back in school, except | didn’t have my buddy Chuck sitting
next to me to copy off of. | will include the answers to these five questions in next month’s
newsletter, along with the last 4 questions in the quiz. Do your research, discuss it with the
guys at the course, and by all means, use your rule books. You may need to take a look at
some definitions as well, eh? What is a bunker, and what does “through the green” mean?
Knowing the rules is part of playing the game. Good day, and good golf!



